Ecodesign

After cultivating our oyster mushrooms, a part of their production residue is also used to create a biodegradable material. Innovation never stops at PermaFungi !

Myco material – a material from the future !

At PermaFungi, we continually innovate to add new steps in our circular project. The next step is particularly ambitious: we want to transform the champost (our residue of oyster cultivation) into a sustainable and biodegradable material. How? By adding mycelium.

 

Recent researches have shown that mycelium (the mushroom seed) can be transformed into a material which can replace plastic – the myco material. This material generates ten times less carbon dioxide (CO2) and uses about eight times less energy than the production of polystyrene foam.

 

Made by hand and without any artificial processes, the mushroom material remains completely natural. Its qualities in terms of strength, impermeability and fire resistance are interesting for creating quality products, still able to be composted.

 

Our challenge is twofold. On the one hand, it involves the process of developing this new material in our circular project and on the other hand, it implies creating products alternative to plastic and with a high added value. The different potential applications are numerous: in design, thermal insulation or packaging.

LumiFungi – a 100% biodegradable lamp

A lamp of another kind, LumiFungi has been the first product based on myco material marketed in Belgium. This material grows on the waste from our oyster mushroom production. This lampshade is absolutely handmaid, organic and biodegradable.

A minimalist design, a soft texture and a warm atmosphere from a low energy lamp make of that lamp an inspiring symbol of a sustainable use of materials.

 

The production of this lamp was made in collaboration with Glimps.

Technical characteristics

Design

Caroline Pultz

Place of manufacture

Belgium (the components come mainly from Europe)

Dimensions

Ø220 x H180 x 100mm with flax cable 1000mm

Packaging

Reused cardboard box, sticky tape in recycled paper, with a vegetable glue and 100% biodegradable corn crisps

Products in myco material

Many possibilities exist with myco material : lights, flower pots, decorative objects, packaging, building bricks, acoustic panels…

All these products are made to measure and order. Do you want to lighten your home with unique and authentic lights ? Or do you want to decorate your space and bring nature back at home ? Do not wait and share with us one of your craziest desire by email at : info@permafungi.be

 

Purchasing unique pieces made of mushroom material is also a sign of the environmental and societal commitment of your company. It is an excellent communication tool to demonstrate your environmentally friendly approach.

PermaFungi

PermaFungi | Ecodesign
20518
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-20518,cookies-not-set,woocommerce-no-js,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,columns-3,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-16.8,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.2,vc_responsive
 

Ecodesign

Après la culture de nos pleurotes, une partie du substrat restant est utilisée pour créer un matériau durable et biodégradable. L'innovation ne s'arrête jamais chez PermaFungi !

Le myco-matériau – une matière du futur !

Chez PermaFungi, on innove continuellement afin d’ajouter de nouvelles étapes dans notre projet circulaire. La prochaine est particulièrement ambitieuse : transformer le champost (notre résidu de la culture de pleurotes) en un matériau durable et biodégradable.  Comment ? En y ajoutant du mycélium.

Des recherches récentes montrent que le mycélium (semence de champignon) peut être transformé en un matériau capable de remplacer le plastique – le myco-matériau. Ce matériau produit dix fois moins de dioxyde de carbone (CO2) et utilise environ huit fois moins d’énergie que la production de mousse de polystyrène.

Fabriqué à la main et sans procédés artificiels, le matériau de champignon reste totalement naturel. Ses qualités en termes de résistance, d’imperméabilité et de résistance au feu sont intéressantes pour créer des produits de qualité tout en étant compostables.

Notre défi est double. Il s’agit d’une part d’inclure le processus de fabrication de ce nouveau matériau dans notre projet circulaire et d’autre part, de créer des produits à haute valeur ajoutée, alternatifs au plastique. Les applications potentielles sont multiples : dans le design, l’isolation ou encore le packaging.

LumiFungi – un luminaire 100% biodégradable

Luminaire d’un nouveau genre, LumiFungi est le premier produit à base de myco-matériau commercialisé en Belgique. Ce matériau pousse sur le flux de déchets provenant de notre production de pleurotes. Il s’agit d’un abat-jour entièrement artisanal, organique et biodégradable.

Le design minimaliste, la texture douce et l’ambiance chaleureuse à partir d’une ampoule basse énergie en font un symbole inspirant pour une utilisation durable des matériaux.

La production de ce luminaire a été réalisée en partenariat avec Glimps.

Caractéristiques techniques

Design

Caroline Pultz

Lieu de fabrication

Belgique (composants provenant principalement d’Europe)

Dimension

Ø220 x H180 x 100mm avec câble en lin 1000mm

Packaging

Boîte en carton récupérée, ruban adhésif en papier recyclé avec colle végétale et chips de maïs 100% biodégradables

Produits en myco-matériau

Les possibilités du myco-matériau sont immenses : des luminaires, des pots de fleurs, des objets déco, du packaging, des briques de construction, des panneaux acoustiques…

Tous ces produits sont réalisés sur commande et sur mesure. Envie d’illuminer vos intérieurs avec des luminaires uniques et authentiques ? De décorer vos espaces en ramenant la nature chez vous ? N’hésitez pas à partager avec nous vos envies les plus folles en nous écrivant sur caroline@permafungi.be.

Acquérir des pièces uniques en matériau de champignon, c’est aussi marquer l’engagement environnemental et sociétal de votre entreprise. C’est un excellent outil de communication pour votre démarche éco-responsable.